Mr. Journo
Home History Celebrate Chhath Pooja With Mr Journo

Celebrate Chhath Pooja With Mr Journo

by manisha mahaseth - 09 Nov 2021, Tuesday 541 Views Like (0)
Celebrate Chhath Pooja With Mr Journo

Chhath Puja 

Chhatt Puja is observed in the Indian states of Eastern Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, and Bihar. It is also well-liked in Nepal. It is a Vedic festival honouring the Sun God (Lord Surya) and Chhathi Maiya (another name for Goddess Usha and a known sister to Lord Surya).

The event is named 'Chhath,' which means six in Hindi or Nepali. The event is held on the sixth day of the Karthika month.

Celebrating Chhath Puja

The festival lasts four days and is dedicated to honouring the Sun God, the source of all strength. Vrati is a fast observed by Sun God devotees. Chhath Puja is held twice a year, once in the summer and once in the winter.

Karthik Chhath is done on Kartika Shukla Shashti, the sixth day of the Karthika month. According to the Hindu calendar, this day occurs every year in October or November. It is known as Chaiti Chhath in the summer and is celebrated a few days after Holi.

When compared to other Hindu holidays, the ceremonies accompanying Chhath Puja are said to be tougher. They include severe fasting (no water), bathing in rivers/water bodies, standing in water and praying, facing the sun for an extended amount of time, and presenting 'prasad' to the Sun at sunrise and dusk. There will be no salt, onion, or garlic in any meal made during the celebration.

Celebration over 4 days

  • 1st Day: Nahay Khay - This entails bathing in a sacred body of water and fasting all day. Ladies who are fasting can only eat one meal each day. The dinner must be prepared at home.

  • 2nd Day: Lohanda and Kharna A fast must be kept throughout the day. It is interrupted after sundown and with prasad (popular: Kheer and Chapati). Following that, another 36-hour fast without water must be observed.

  • 3rd Day: Sandhya Arghya Prasad is made at home and then brought to the river in the evening to be presented to the setting sun. While completing this rite, women wear turmeric yellow sarees.

  • 4th Day: Usha Arghya Devotees present offerings to the rising sun along the riverside on the festival's last day. The devotees break their 36-hour fast on this day, ending in the festival's conclusion. Prasad is shared by relatives.

Chhath Puja Prasad

Because prasad is so important during this holiday, here's what goes into producing it: rice, fresh fruits, dry fruits, wheat, jaggery, almonds, coconuts, and ghee. Thekua is a popular food that is a wheat flour cookie.

Chhath Puja In Different States

  • Chhath puja in Bihar: Chhath puja is the biggest holiday celebrated by the people of Bihar. Bakargao in Nalanda and Ular Sun Temple in Patna are particularly well-known for their Chhath festivities.

  • Chhath puja in Uttar Pradesh: Chhath puja is mostly observed in Uttar Pradesh's eastern region. On the eve of the celebration, the state observes a public holiday.

  • Chhath puja in Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh: Chhath puja is also observed in the states of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh in central India.

Chhath puja is one of the most significant celebrations in the country, as well as one of the most difficult. Fasting for four days is a custom that all ladies in the household who are participating in the puja must adhere to.

News About Chhath Puja

The Chhath Parv, also known as the Chhath Puja, will be observed in several regions of northern India, including Bihar, Jharkhand, and Jharkhand. Because Chhath Puja is a significant celebration, the Government of Delhi NCR has designated November 20, 2020, as a public holiday.

The following are the cities in the NCR where a public holiday has been declared to commemorate Chhath Puja:

  • Delhi 

  • Noida 

  • Greater Noida 

  • Ghaziabad